Feedback forms that make you go “huh?”

If you want to get good, quality feedback from customers you need to speak in their language not your company’s jargon. Simple and straightforward, right? Well just last week I received two feedback requests from major companies that made me go “huh?”

The first request came from Black & Decker. It was six months since I registered a product with them and they wanted to know if I liked the product and if I would be recommending them to others. Well I would have been happy to reply if I knew what product they were talking about in their email. Their email request (see below) asked me for feedback on their FS618C2. Well that made me go “huh?” What was this product? I had to search online to find the actual description because I didn’t remember what product they wanted me to review.

bd_invite.jpg

The second request came from Blockbuster (see below) asking me when I mailed a particular movie back to them so they could see if their process was efficient . It made stop and go “huh?” After trying to remember when I mailed it back to them, I remembered I didn’t mail it back to them. I dropped it off at one of their local stores. Not only that, but they gave me three days to select as the date I mailed it and it was rather hard to remember the exact day. I wonder how accurate that data is for them. Since I dropped it off at the store, don’t they know that, and can’t they record that date?

blockbuster2.jpg

I do want to applaud each of these companies for asking for feedback to improve their products and services. But please, make it easy for customers. Speak in their language and be sure to have at least a few people test your feedback form and process from the customer’s point of view.

One Response

  1. […] Schwartz of Congruity has a great post on customer feedback forms.  He gives two examples of requests he recently received for customer feedback, one from Black and […]

Leave a Reply

